Artist or Business woman? Which one am I?

Standard

Am I an Artist or a Business woman or can I be both? I have toiled over this for over 25 years and here I am today…..

What are the qualities of an Artist and business-person and to what extent can they really exist within one human? Can there be a marriage of the two concepts to create stunning art and successfully market and sell it to the world. I believe Art and Business can create new partnerships in all areas of commerce and culture and there is an endless world of opportunity!

But as some one said ” is that realistic or are we just drinking artistic coolaid?”

Certain pieces of Art work should make you stop, touch a certain part of your “soul”…. artists are all explorers of experience and consciousness and it shows in their work. To me, the artistic consciousness is primary and you can’t be an artist without it.

A great artist has that together with the technical skill and craftsmanship to execute the creation of the work. But the technical skill alone does not make an artist. But there are also pieces of Art that are technically excellent work but has nothing behind it. As such it is decoration and that is OK – but I am not sure that is Art.

Combining the artistic consciousness, and technical skill  is actually a lot of talent all wrapped into one human being. So then, is it realistic that this same human can also be a good business person? I believe it would depend on each individual….I don’t think Van Gogh or Leonardo were good businessmen. Andy Warhol and Picasso YES! Warhol in fact was excellent.

I learned a long time ago to build on my strengths and enlist help in areas I needed support. To keep oneself in the spotlight and market oneself is an art form all on its own- it’s what I call BizArtForm! Passion is wonderful when it helps you do your very best, but not when it keeps you from completing a job and getting paid. Artists must know where to draw the line between personal and professional works. Passion alone doesn’t pay the bills…give your best for what you’re being paid to do…and save your passion. Steve Jobs for example may not have been an Artist in the true sense of the word but, I believe he had equal amounts of passion/creativity and sense of business.

I also believe this is a gift and not all Artists are both…I may have been blessed in that category.

About malikaghoshgarrett

I was born and raised in Calcutta, India. I received my BFA in Visula Arts from Wesleyan College, Macon, GA in the United States. I am unique as I am both an Artist and a Business Person. A rare combination they say!!!

2 responses »

  1. “An artist is somebody who produces things that people don’t need to have.”

    “Being good in business is the most fascinating kind of art. Making money is art and working is art and good business is the best art.”

    “Don’t pay any attention to what they write about you. Just measure it in inches.”

    — Andy Warhol

    • Thank you, I love it…so agree with the “Don’t pay any attention to what they write about you. Just measure it in inches” and the “being good in business is the most fascinating kind of art” comment- I believe they are all true. Many of the greatest business persons I have ever met or had the privilege of working with have been creative with artistic talents 🙂

Leave a Reply

